My life in pictures…

So this year I made the decision that I will start pursuing my love for fashion and possibly turn it into a fruitful and satisfying career.

Unfortunately throughout the years I have never really practiced what I felt deep inside was the only place where I belonged. I have always loved clothes; thrifting for unique pieces, altering them or just creating my own hilarious ensembles from scratch as a child.

The sad part is that as I grew up, dress making wasn’t particularly the kind of subject that was included in your report card nor was it the most recommended. In fact I remember sometime in primary school we had sewing as an extracurricular. But that only lasted for less than a year and our darling Miss… [Dolly, I think her name was. But I stand to be corrected] was never to be seen or heard from again. A child’s dream crushed.

Actually it seems like throughout my childhood I’ve had most of the things that I really felt comfortable doing – things that reflected the kind of personality that I had – taken away from me. Because I remember there was a point in time where I was introduced to dance through ballet. Gosh how I loved it! I loved the attention it got me from the other kids back in the township because it was something new to them. I loved that it made me stand out. It made me feel important and special. But my teacher left and the school decided that they weren’t going to hire another one. BANG! Another dream gone.

There have been plenty of ‘first loves’ that I felt were being snatched away from me, especially during that period. And every single time they did, I was forced to be normal. My confidence left with them.

As I grew I became less interested. Felt more robotic as I unwillingly settled into routine. But this year I made a decision that I am going to try by all means to do all the things that I had neglected. Fashion was one of them. And so far I have worked and collaborated with some of the most amazing and talented people I have ever met.

I promised myself that I wasn’t going to say much with this being my very first post and all (hides face). So this is not an article, it’s not meant to be perfect or follow any particular order. In fact you can see it as an elongated Facebook status.

‘My Life in Pictures’ is just a collection of different [I’ll call it stanza’s for now] In my life. Featuring the talented designers I get the pleasure of working with and the amazing photographers I collaborate with. It’s a title with no end and I hope you will enjoy this first installation.

Love

Yoli xxx

 The Kahvarah series

This a mini photo shoot I did with my beloved friend. All the clothes are created by the beautiful Valerie Amani for her clothing label, Kahvarah.

 

 

 

A work in progress…  just enjoy the journey 🙂

Clothing

Kahvarah

Photography

Luvuyo Wogqoyi

Bulumko Stifler Gana

Second Model

Sinakho Adonisi

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Isaac says:

    Wow!! I’m soooo unbelievably proud of you!! Can’t wait for your next posts!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sive says:

    Lovely work sweetheart. Bambili, Bambili !!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Phiephie says:

    This is your life ,You belong in this industry and you make me smile ,I love that u believed in yourself 1st before any1 else can believe in you-2016 create waves and give no apologies 👑 #Winning

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww friend that is beautiful. Thank you for that xxxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

